Coral Bay Outlook, St. John, USVI
Coral Bay Outlook, St. Johns, USVI

Guest Reviews for Coral Bay Outlook

A Week in Paradise

Guest: Ginny and Al (Bennington, VT )
Date of Stay: 04/07/12 Review Submitted: 04/22/12

We love St. John--have visited many times. Coral Bay is our favorite part of the island for its quiet, charming beauty. This year we were joined by our daughter's family of 4. Coral Bay Outlook was perfect for our two families--room to enjoy it together and also for privacy. Everything was very clean and attractive. It had everything we needed for a week in paradise. We loved the views from the decks and the nearness to stores and restaurants in Coral Bay. Thanks for sharing your home.

Exactly as Represented!

Guest: mackinacgal (madison WI)
Date of Stay: 03/31/12 Review Submitted: 04/13/12

We stayed at the Coral Bay Outlook from March 31-April 7, 2012. It was our first trip to St.John and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We rented the entire villa with my husband and I and our 2 sons (ages 17 &20) staying upstairs and my 83 year old father hanging out downstairs. The photos and listing are extremely accurate representation of this villa and the views actually exceed the descriptions. We loved Coral Bay - as it is laid back and very accessible to both the North and South Shore Beaches and snorkeling sites. Both villas were sparkling clean, well stocked and thoughtfully provisioned with ample beach supplies such as chairs, umbrellas, towels and coolers. Booking was a breeze and the owners are quite friendly and helpful. I really recommend paying attention to their suggested weekly itinerary as their recommendations are really good. Like many before us, we loved sitting on the deck in the morning, watching boats, stars and the sky. We also enjoyed listening the music waft up from the bars below as it added to the vacation atmosphere. I highly recommend this property and expect that wee will return!

Great Vacation Rental

Guest: David (New York)
Date of Stay: 03/19/12 Review Submitted: 04/09/12

Wonderful spot for a relaxing vacation with great amenities and spectacular views. we stayed 5 nights in March 2012 and were very impressed by the accommodations. Clean, well appointed and great location made this rental a vacation high spot. We cooked in and went to a lot of local restaurants and bars. If you are feeling energetic you can leave the car at home and walk down to the bars - the walk up is steep but not too far. Would highly recommend.

Stunning Views!

Guest: Brittany (Chicago)
Date of Stay: 03/18/12 Review Submitted: 03/26/12

We spent a beautiful week staying in the garden unit of this home. The home has everything you need for a relaxing week on St. John -- comfortable accommodations, access to beach chairs and a cooler, spectacular views and easy access to other amenities. We especially enjoyed all of the guide books and suggestions found in the home; it really helped to guide our trip. You can't go wrong with the Coral Bay Outlook!

Coral Bay Outlook

Guest: Penny (Cape Cod)
Date of Stay: 02/25/12 Review Submitted: 03/10/12

Best house my friends and I have rented! It is perfectly located above Coral Bay, close enough to walk to the restaurants, yet far enough so that the music is not too loud. It has a fabulous view, very well appointed, has everything you would need for the house and the beach! The road up is certainly a challenge as is the parking, but you get used to it--4WD a necessity! I definitely would rent this lovely home again!

Fabulous Views and Very Comfortable

Guest: SMD (Washington, DC)
Date of Stay: 02/04/12 Review Submitted: 02/29/12

This is a lovely house with a spectacular view of Coral Bay. Convienently located and very comfortable. All you need for a great get-a-way.

Already Trying to Figure Out How Soon We Can Go Back!

Guest: heather (boston)
Date of Stay: 04/16/11 Review Submitted: 04/27/11

My husband, three children and I spent a week at Coral Bay Outlook. The villa was charming, with everything we could have possibly needed. Very, very clean and well kept. Amazingly gorgeous views from the deck. The owner was very communicative from the time we inquired to the week before our trip. When we arrived, the property manager was on-site and gave us lots of local information and was happy to help with whatever else we may have needed. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again!!!

Delightful Rental at Coral Bay Outlook

Guest: Deb (Portland, Oregon)
Date of Stay: 03/06/11 Review Submitted: 04/24/11

Four of us (2 couples) spent a week in March at Coral Bay Outlook in the upstairs 2-bedroom unit. Great location for access to snorkeling, hiking, kayaking if you rent a car or jeep. The house is nicely furnished; the kitchen well-equipped with extras such as local guidebooks and beach chairs. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Great Vacation in a Great House

Guest: Family from NY (White Plains, NY, USA)
Date of Stay: 02/13/11 Review Submitted: 03/24/11

We are a family of 4, spent a week in February on the upper level and enjoyed our vacation a lot. The house offers everything you need plus great views. The island is great - wonderful beaches, great snorkeling.

A Fine Week in Coral Bay Outlook!

Guest: Bob (Arlington, MA)
Date of Stay: 01/27/11 Review Submitted: 02/13/11

We stayed in the Garden Level, which was just right for two. Everything we needed was there. We enjoyed being so close to town, including the great views right down into Coral Bay harbor, and enjoyable musical sounds from the near-by (but not too near-by!) restaurants. The listing describes the property very well. We snorkled every day, including a delightful day on the "Long Distance" 40-foot sailboat courtesy of Rick and Robin. Annie was very helpful in arranging our rental. A 4 wheel drive jeep is helpful. Good to heed Annie's advice to arrive in daylight if this is your first visit to Coral Bay Outlook; the switchbacks leading to the house are a little challenging after dark if this is your first time. We hope to return another year.

Honeymoon Stay

Guest: Loyd & Jackie (Scottsdale, AZ)
Date of Stay: 08/15/10 Review Submitted: 09/01/10

We had a wonderful stay at Outlook. This house has a fantastic view of Coral Bay and easy access to the restaurants in Coral Bay. Cool breezes from the sea can't be beat at this elevation. Plus its close proximity to the North Shore beaches is good too. The kitchen is well stocked, plenty of towels, beach chairs and a cooler too! We loved the outdoor shower overlooking the harbor. We recommend this villa to friends and family. Thanks Andy and Annie for opening up your house to us again. :) We will return for sure!

Perfect House, Perfect Location

Guest: Angelica (Santiago, Chile)
Date of Stay: 07/24/10 Review Submitted: 08/20/10

We were 7 and rented the whole house for 10 days, the upper for kids (5) and the lower for us. Great! The house is exactly as posted. Nice to travel light having there beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, cooler and even noodles. Would definitely rent it again and would strongly recommend Coral Bay vs Cruz Bay. Coral Bay is perfect, quite and near north and south beaches, restaurantes, supermarket, etc. We ate at "home" every night and found everything we needed. The owner was very helpful and answered our needs more than promptly. Even though we stayed in July-Aug, the house was cool.

Third time is a charm!

Guest: Colin & Allison (Port Deposit, MD)
Date of Stay: 07/15/10 Review Submitted: 09/11/10

Well another great week at the house, it was our third visit to Coral Bay Overlook. This time we took my parents for their 40th wedding anniversary! We booked the whole house and had my parents stay with the three kids, their grandkids, upstairs. This allowed for mom and dad to sit at night on the deck below and relax. As usual the house was clean and well maintained. If you have never been to St. John and you need an affordable place to stay with your family this is the place, trust me! We have been going to the Island for many years and now we don't even bother looking anywhere else to stay. Coral Bay Overlook has what the typical family needs for a great vacation.

Beautiful Location, Comfortable House

Guest: Pillowbarb (Denver, CO)
Date of Stay: 05/01/10 Review Submitted: 06/11/10

My recent stay in the Coral Bay house was just as expected. The location is perfect for exploring the beaches on St. John, and the market at the bottom of the hill and nearby restaurants were very convenient. The house is spacious, and the deck is a lovely place to have breakfast or cocktails and watch the birds. The outdoor shower provides an opportunity for lizard watching. I would recommend the house to anyone who would like a vacation in a quiet spot, away from the hustle and bustle of Cruz Bay.

Have Your Breath Taken Away @ Coral Bay Outlook!!!

Guest: P and M (Clifton, NJ)
Date of Stay: 04/22/10 Review Submitted: 08/22/10

My husband and I often reminisce of our stay at the ~Coral Bay Outlook~. This is where we really feel in love with St. John. It was our second time visiting the island, and I would say that if you really want to enjoy the island's natural beauty, Coral Bay is the place to stay! Every morning we woke up to the peaceful sounds of nature, had breakfast on the veranda as we soaked in the magnificent views of Coral Bay, and joined by the island birds. The house has the island feel, it's very comfortable, spacious, and clean. Annie makes sure you have everything you need to make your stay a pleasant one. It's perfectly situated, market and shops right at the bottom of the hill, near many great restaurants, gorgeous beaches, awesome hikes. If you want to really experience St. John's in all its beauty, The Coral Bay Outlook is the ideal place to stay.

Coral Bay Outlook

Guest: Dave and Megan (Virginia)
Date of Stay: 03/24/10 Review Submitted: 03/24/10

We stayed on the lower level at Coral Bay Outlook and found the views to be amazing. We loved eating on the deck gazing at all the boats! Had everything we needed to enjoy 5 wonderful days on St. John. This was our 3rd time to St. John but our first in Coral Bay. We will definitley come back to Coral Bay Outlook. Such a great location to get to all the amazing beaches. What a breeze also!! The house was exactly as described and would highly recommend. Best Snorkeling:Salt Pond Bay, Waterlemon Cay, Rocks between Solomon and Honeymoon Beach. Best Eats:Colombo Smoothies, The Tourist Trap, Skinny Legs, Island Blues and Donkey Diner for breakfast.

Coral Bay Outlook-March 2010

Guest: AandL (Hamilton, NJ)
Date of Stay: 03/07/10 Review Submitted: 03/26/10

This property is gorgeously located and has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. Listing is totally accurate, owner and caretaker incredibly helpful, house is lovely!! (Upstairs is a lighter, more open place) We enjoyed beaching (all the beach equipment you could ask for is at the house), hiking, a daytrip on the catamaran "Calypso" including snorkeling and an afternoon on Jost Van Dyck (BVI), lots of great restaurants (Island Blue, Skinny Legs in Coral Bay, Woody's and Margarita Phil's in Cruz Bay) grilling out on our own deck (gas grills on covered decks on both levels). Indoor/outdoor shower is wonderful as long as the weather is good. There is even a nice selection of DVDs and vacation books in case you want to kick back and do that some days. When they recommend a 4-wheel drive vehicle they mean it though--even getting up the hill to the house is steep! Parking anywhere on the island is getting to be an issue--be prepared. We would definitely return or send friends there. Great place--wish we could have stayed longer.

The Outlook

Guest: D.J. & Ray (Washington, NC, USA)
Date of Stay: 08/27/09 Review Submitted: 08/27/09

Our stay at Coral Bay Outlook was fabulously tropical and convenient. By the end of our stay, the house felt like a home. Everything is tastefully decorated in island style. The kitchen is well equipped and designed for multiple users. The house really has an open feel to it that is hard to perceive by looking at the pictures. My favorite feature of the house is the marvelous indoor/outdoor shower. You enter the large terracotta- tiled shower from the inside, but once in the shower, you have an open rooftop and magnificent view of the harbor. We lived on the deck with its fantastic view of Coral Harbor. I think my husband could have sat there all day watching the boat arrivals and departures. Although our visit was in July, we had great tropical breezes our entire stay. The house is convenient to markets, Lily’s Market and Love City; restaurants, Island Blues (our fav), and Miss Lucy’s (don’t miss the brunch), snorkeling gear rental at Crabby Shack’s, deli food and sandwiches at Big Belly Deli, and of course the beaches, both North and South. The house had chairs, coolers, and beach towels for beach use. The outside of the house was well landscaped with a “patio” area with table, chairs, and a bench. I really loved the coral and shells built into the outdoor steps and wall. All six of us were very comfortable in the house, with two of us bunking downstairs in the garden villa, and the other four of us upstairs. Both up and down stairs have decks and great views. You just won’t get the same laid back island feel in Cruz Bay—Coral Bay Outlook is the place to stay.

Great Place for a Family with Kids

Guest: Colin & Allison (Port Deposit, MD)
Date of Stay: 07/30/09 Review Submitted: 09/02/09

Annie was a great owner to work with in all aspects of the trip. She was a great help in making the booking and payment of the house relatively painless and gave us some great ideas for places to visit! The house was exactly as we imagined, clean, spacious, and well equipped. The upper level deck was great at night, as you could hear the local bands playing at the bars below, and the moonlight reflecting off the water was awe inspiring. The neighbors were very helpful when asked but basically went about their daily chores with a friendly “hello”. The house was only several minutes from Coral Bay making it easy to run out and get supplies as needed, depending on where you stay on St. John this is not always the case. Overall Coral Bay Outlook was a nice affordable house which became our base for a wonderful vacation.

Coral Bay Outlook Has It All!

Guest: Mimi & Mike (Washington, NC)
Date of Stay: 07/22/09 Review Submitted: 08/09/09

We had the pleasure of staying at Coral Bay Outlook in July 2009 and it was amazing! The house couldn't have been more perfect. It was clean, attractively decorated, well-stocked and beautiful. We enjoyed the constant breeze throughout the house, the stunning view from the front porch and the convenience of the location. The house was privately situated, yet allowed for easy access to local restaurants (several with live music), shopping and beaches. It was a great relaxing week and we plan to be back soon!

Get the Island Feel @ Coral Bay Outlook

Guest: D.J. & Ray (Washington, NC, USA)
Date of Stay: 07/21/09 Review Submitted: 08/27/09

Our stay at Coral Bay Outlook was fabulously tropical and convenient. By the end of our stay, the house felt like a home. Everything is tastefully decorated in island style. The kitchen is well equipped and designed for multiple users. The house really has an open feel to it that is hard to perceive by looking at the pictures. My favorite feature of the house is the marvelous indoor/outdoor shower. You enter the large terracotta- tiled shower from the inside, but once in the shower, you have an open rooftop and magnificent view of the harbor. We lived on the deck with its fantastic view of Coral Harbor. I think my husband could have sat there all day watching the boat arrivals and departures. Although our visit was in July, we had great tropical breezes our entire stay. The house is convenient to markets, Lily’s Market and Love City; restaurants, Island Blues (our fav), and Miss Lucy’s (don’t miss the brunch), snorkeling gear rental at Crabby Shack’s, deli food and sandwiches at Big Belly Deli, and of course the beaches, both North and South. The house had chairs, coolers, and beach towels for beach use. The outside of the house was well landscaped with a “patio” area with table, chairs, and a bench. I really loved the coral and shells built into the outdoor steps and wall. All six of us were very comfortable in the house, with two of us bunking downstairs in the garden villa, and the other four of us upstairs. Both up and down stairs have decks and great views. You just won’t get the same laid back island feel in Cruz Bay—Coral Bay Outlook is the place to stay.

Days on Coral Bay

Guest: E & C (Winston Salem, NC)
Date of Stay: 07/21/09 Review Submitted: 

Great House. Super clean and accessable to several resturants, groceries, and 20 minutes from Cruz Bay. Great breeze on the deck and views are wonderful. Sunrise across Coral Bay and night view of bay are beautiful. Close to all the snorkling and bays. Would stay again. Stayed in the upstairs with two bedrooms which had plenty of room and could cook in or go to near by resturants. Drinks on the deck in the afternoon with the view and breeze were super.

 

 

Guest Reviews for TreeTop Cottage

Perfect for 2!

Guest: Jen & Mike (Waukee, IA)
Date of Stay: 03/12/12 Review Submitted: 04/24/12

We stayed at Treetop Cottage in March 2012 and had a great time! Cottage is small, but more than adequate for two people. Kitchen has everything you might need and gas grill was nice to have as well. Cooler, beach chairs and umbrellas were great extras at the cottage and we used them every day. Sunrise views from the deck were spectacular! Plenty of room to store belongings up in the loft, and ladder up to the loft was plenty sturdy. We loved the location of the cottage, just up the hill from Coral Bay, within walking distance to several restaurants. The Coral Bay side of the island is so relaxed, which we loved. We hope to come back soon, I have the itch to return already!!

Cozy Cottage, Great Location, Great Experience

Guest: Scott & Amy (Minneapolis, MN)
Date of Stay: 02/25/12 Review Submitted: 03/10/12

The other reviewers have already confirmed what a great affordable cottage this is. It is perfect for a couple, we very much enjoyed having this home base for our 8 days in St. John. The picture of the kitchen does not do it justice, it is quite big and well equipped which is a must when spending a week or more some where, in my opinion. What I can add to the conversation is something that I think is equally important as the amenities when renting from VRBO - the ownership and caretaker experience. Annie was very helpful in answering questions and providing directions and tips before arriving. Once we were settled in, Karin checked in with us via phone just a couple times to make sure we had everything we needed. Of course we did, but I am certain if we did not, she would have taken care of us promptly!

Beautiful View

Guest: Raphael (United States)
Date of Stay: 02/13/12 Review Submitted: 02/28/12

We had a lovely week in coral bay on St John. Treetop fit our needs perfectly, as there were just two of us and having a beautiful view every morning and evening more than made up for the steep steps. We would happily return.

Stunning view from the deck!

Guest: Plant Geek (Murrells Inlet, SC)
Date of Stay: 02/02/12 Review Submitted: 02/15/12

Wonderful vacation on St John was enjoyed by myself, husband, and mother. Annie made sure we understood that the cottage was small for the 3 of us, but it was more than adequate and very well appointed. We prepared our own meals most of the time and spent many hours drinking in the breathtaking view while enjoying cocktails and meals on the deck. Following Annie's advice, we rented snorkel gear from Crabby's at the bottom of the hill. Salt Pond Beach and Waterlemon Beach were favorite snorkeling spots. Found Josephine's Organic Farm with directions from very nice property manager, Kaaren, supplimenting our meals with Josephine's tender greens, heirloom tomatoes, and starfruit. All in all, a perfect vacation in a wonderful cottage! Hope we can someday return!

Loved it!

Guest: Rowdog (Bremen, IN)
Date of Stay: 04/02/11 Review Submitted: 04/11/11

Literally just got back 2 days ago... Since we knew about St.John and what to expect in the Coral Bay lifestyle (totally laid-back), we couldn't have been happier. we weren't sure being up the hill off the water, but heck, we were @ a different beach every day anyway. to wake up and see the entire bay over coffee was just perfect! we made friends @ skinny-legs over the final NCAA game, got great snorkeling spots from Lucy's and Island Blues. Cottage was recently painted, extremely clean, missing nothing. we had plenty of bedding, trash bags, kitchen is well appointed also. can't wait till next time!

Great Retreat

Guest: SJVI (NYC)
Date of Stay: 03/08/11 Review Submitted: 04/08/11

Treetop Cottage was a great place for our recent escape from our urban life. The cottage is set way up on top of one of the many hills along the coast of St John with a beautiful view of Coral Bay and beyond.The well-kept cottage itself is the perfect size for a couple and could hold 2 more if needed. It was on the quiet side of the island making it very relaxing yet conveniently located within 20 minutes max (by car) of all the great hikes, snorkels, and beaches. Every morning many species of birds and butterflies visited the flowers around the cottage. The deck and all the amenities were great. The island breeze kept it the perfect temperature at night (March). Would definitely come back, price was right , owners super helpful, accomadating, friendly, and very attentive on-site manager for questions, help, etc.

Perfect

Guest: Rachel H. (Lamoine, Maine)
Date of Stay: 01/04/11 Review Submitted: 01/18/11

What a treasure in the tropics! We have been here for 3 weeks and what a view. The cottage is as advertised, the openness of the kitchen is tremendous. Thank goodness for the breezes here. The cottage is clean and quiet. Kaaren the house keeper/ manager is very helpful with her local knowledge. Hope we can return next year, this side of the island is top shelf. It is a 5 miniute walk down the hill to three resturaunts and open air bars. There is a very nice grocery store at the bottom of the hill that is very well stocked.Most certianly will recomend to my friends, thank you.

 

 

Great Vacation; Great House!

Welcome to Paradise!

Or at least as close as you come on this earth. coral bay outlook lizard welcome

 

 

Beautiful beaches and perfect water for swimming coral bay outlook petersburg beach

 

 

Along with hiking in the
USVI National Park

coral bay outlook ruins

 

 

Plus sailing, snorkeling and other water sports

coral bay outlook sailboat

 

 

Makes St John the perfect place for a family vacation!

coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

Come enjoy this special place coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

When you stay at Coral Bay Outlook, you are on the east side of the island with beautiful views, the cooling tradewinds coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

And close proximity to most of the best snorkeling and beaches on the island - Maho, Francis, Leinster, Salt Pond, Waterlemon Cay, Lamshur, Miss Vie's and more coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

Plus our house is surrounded by greenery and gardens - perfect for privacy and relaxing coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

Best of all are the spectacular views from our decks coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

This is the view from the main deck coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

and this is the view from the cottage. coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

This is the outdoor dining area on the main level coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

And the view in the evening coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

And the garden level outdoor dining coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

And Treetop Cottage's outdoor seating and views. coral bay outlook Julia

 

 

St John is a special island. coral bay outlook Julia

 

shadow bottom